Phillipians 4:13 says “I can do all things through Christ who gives me strength”. This has always been one of my favorite verses. No matter how weak I am, Christ’s strength is there with me, helping. I’ve thought of it often. Sometimes at odd times. Like once when we were carrying a fridge up the crooked steps to our house. I prayed for help carrying my end, and this was one of the few times I didn’t hurt myself helping with a fridge!

Another time this has helped me? I went to the dentist to get my teeth cleaned. If you know me, you know I have developed a great gag reflex. So the thought of teeth cleaning was … was not something I was looking forward to. I repeated the verse to myself constantly, yes, constantly while the cleaning was done. It worked! All things? Yes!

Most people have at least one thing they really don’t want to do, or don’t enjoy. For me, that one thing has always been speaking in front of people. Now, I am reading Bible verses during our Church services. I can and will read the word of God. Skits or testimony, I’m not so sure of yet.

What has my attention, is the fact that the one thing I didn’t want to do, is exactly what God has me doing. I have been blessed. If you have told yourself that you will be open to do whatever God wants you to do, remember that it may be something you are uncomfortable with. Take that “one thing” you don’t relish, and give that to God also. And, always remember, you can do ALL things, through Christ who gives you strength.

