This phrase has alway been one of the most confusing for me. I love the Lord, but fear?

Reading the Bible has in several places the verses that convince me that the fear of the Lord is a good thing! For example:

Proverbs 1:7 The fear of the LORD is the beginning of knowledge.

Deuteronomy has several references to this fear.

Joshua 4:24 He did this so that all the peoples of the earth might know that the hand of the LORD is powerful and so that you might always fear the LORD your God.”

Today, I happened to google something and it brought me to a Wikipedia article. Yes, I take Wiki with a grain of salt but it did have an interesting way of explaining this subject. You can see the article at: http://en.wikipedia.org/wiki/Fear_of_the_Lord.

To paraphrase it, it says: “the “fear” in “fear of the Lord” is often misinterpreted as “servile fear” (the fear of getting in trouble) when it should be understood as “filial fear” (the fear of offending someone whom one loves).

Now, that makes more sense to me!

Another line says “Fear of the Lord, as described in Isaiah 11:2-3 is (also known as wonder and awe).

I am, I repeat, I am filled with wonder and awe of God, and I don’t want to offend Him.

Now, for a memory. When I was a very little girl, I knew Jesus was my friend, and He was always with me. My neighbor girl went to another church and she was very controversial. (I’m surprised my mama let me play with her). Anyway, she was discussing God, and whether or not He really existed. I remember feeling fear. Because I knew that God knew we were discussing Him. I prayed for forgiveness, never wanting Him to doubt that I believed in Him.

So yes, the fear of the Lord, can be fearful, but mostly, I grew up believing in Him, and trusting Him more and more. Wonder and Awe. Yep, that says it.

