Throughout my life of being a parent, I experienced a lot of ups and downs.  Good things happen!  Bad things happen! 

In the midst of the bad things, I found a Bible verse that turned out to be one of my favorites.   It is: Phil 1:6, “being confident of this, that He who began a good work in you will carry it on to completion until the day of Christ Jesus.” (NIV)  I know God began a good work in them, when they were young.  God has always been with us, helping us, loving us.   He’s helped us through a lot of trials and strengthened us through them.  He will continue to help us no matter what we go through.  So, over the years, this verse has helped to remind me that no matter how bad it seemed, it would get better.  This was a big help for me.

I have since had a new realization.  Not only would God complete what He has begun in our children’s lives, but, He will also complete what He has begun in mine!  In the past 20 years, I have grown a lot in my knowledge of God.  But I still have issues – admittedly, with myself!  I can confidently say that with God’s help, I can be better.  So, that means I am not completed – but I will be some day.  I am really looking forward to seeing the finished product.  Even today, He “carries it on to completion”.

